Spiritual Direction

Whakakōingo o te Ngākau: The Yearning Heart

The group bearing this name was formed in the Diocese to enable spiritual  direction to be made available to promote and encourage individual spiritual growth.

For many years the Mercy Sisters Spiritual Life Centre, Rosary House has offered and still offers this valuable service to people.

Whakakōingo o te Ngākau includes both trained spiritual directors, who have undergone spiritual formation themselves and have led various retreats, and retreat leaders who have trained in leading retreats. We are aware that throughout the world there continues to be an upsurge in people seeking spiritual formation and desiring to discover a deeper meaning in their daily lives and our group wishes to offer this service to people of the diocese.  (A fundamental principle in the spiritual formation of our group is the Ignatian spirit of ‘finding God in all things’.)

Below is a list of names of our spiritual directors making it possible for you to contact one of your own choosing requesting spiritual direction. We continue to offer Retreats in Daily Life to Parishes and others. We are excited about presenting the Retreat in Daily Life in a new way. This retreat, spread over a week, begins and ends with a two-hour gathering. Each day in between has a small group Zoom meeting with a retreat director. (A face-to-face option is available.) Material is emailed daily after 6 pm to prepare for the next day.

You are welcome to email a particular Spiritual Director to enquire about spiritual direction. Note you will need to enquire of a Spiritual Director whether there is a cost involved.

List of Spiritual Directors

NameEmail Address
Lyndall Brown RSJ lyndallb19@gmail.com
Fr Kevin Burnskevincburns@xtra.co.nz
Lauren Butlerlaurenbutler76@gmail.com
Mary Catherwood RSMmcatherwood@xtra.co.nz
Christina Cathro RNDMchristina.cathro@gmail.com
Kirsten Challieskirsten.challies@gmail.com
Anna Clarke RSManna.clarke@xtra.co.nz
Kevin Gallagherkevingallagher@xtra.co.nz
Lyn Gallagherlyngallagher@gmail.com
Fr John O’Connorjohn@fff.org.nz
Trish O’Donnell trish.willem@gmail.com
Kathleen Rushton RSMkprushton@gmail.com
Carole Sandfordcarolesandford@actrix.co.nz
Fr Mathew Siji (Valloppallil)sijivm17@gmail.com