Dio Logo Web

Clergy Appointments 2020

From 26 January 2020 until 31 May 2020 (Pentecost)

After Pentecost the appointments below are expected to remain the same; however, they will relate to the new North, South, East, West, Central and Selwyn parishes.

North Christchurch area consisting of Bryndwr, Burnside and Papanui parishes:
Parish Priest of the three parishes: Fr Rick Loughnan
Assistant Priests: Fr Alister Castillo, Fr Edwin Colaco SBD, Fr Kevin Wei

South Christchurch area consisting of Addington-Beckenham and Hoon Hay & Halswell Parishes:
Parish Priest of the two parishes: Fr Peter Head SM
Assistant Priests: Fr Phil Bennenbroek SM, Fr Barry Malone SM

East Christchurch area consisting of Christchurch East and Ferrymead parishes:
Parish Priest of the two parishes: Fr Benito Velasco
Assistant Priests: Fr Peter Costello, Fr Paulo Filoialii

West Christchurch area consisting of Riccarton, Sockburn and Hornby-Darfield parishes:
Parish Priest of the three parishes: Fr Michael Therese Scheerger CSJ
Assistant Priests: Fr Sean-Mary Britto CSJ, Fr Philip Suelzer CSJ

Central Christchurch area consisting of St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral and Mairehau parishes:
Parish Priest of Mairehau & Administrator of the Cathedral: Fr Simon Eccleton
Assistant Priests: Fr Job Thyikalamuriyil, Fr Thanh Tran

Selwyn area consisting of Lincoln and Leeston parishes:
Parish Priest of the two parishes: Fr Brian Fennessy
Assistant Priest: Fr Chris Orr

Clergy Appointments for the remainder of the Diocese for all of 2020

Greymouth Parish Priest: Fr Mathew Siji MCBS – Assistant Priest: Fr Dan Doyle
Hokitika Parish Priest: Fr Joaquin Camano
Hurunui Parish Priest: Fr Michael Pui
Mid-Canterbury Parish Priest: Fr Denis Nolan – Assistant Priest: Fr Huynh Tran
Timaru & Waimate Parish Priest: Fr Chris Friel – Assistant Priest: Fr Do Nguyen
Waimakariri Parish Priest: Fr John Adams
Assistant Priests: Fr Tien Cao, Fr Arsène Kapya (until September 2020)

There are no clergy changes in Akaroa, Opihi, Mackenzie or South Westland parishes.

Retirements: Fr Bryan Parish will retire on 26 January 2020
Fr Dan Doyle will retire at Pentecost 2020